Follow


Active-Active delete with "Force on local"= True should only be used in situations where there is no communication between the local and remote systems, and the only accessible side of the replication is in LAGGING state. If this is the case and it is essential to access the volume's data, the user can perform a delete operation with "Force on local"= True to gain access to the volume. 

When using delete with "Force on local"= True, the remote replica is not automatically deleted by the system; a user cleanup is required. The cleanup will be done using delete with "Force on local"= True on the remote system once it is accessible.

When using delete with "Force on local"= True, there is an option to use "Keep serial"=True. This will keep the same serial ID of the volume as on the local system. This is done to avoid unmapping the volume. However, it is crucial that the cleanup on the remote system using delete with "Force on local"= True will be done with "Keep serial"=False.

Using "Keep serial"=True on both sides of the replica will cause a "split brain" of the volume; 2 unconnected volumes with the same serial ID.

To recover from this situation the following actions need to be executed:

No connection between systems and only LAGGING side is available

  1. Replica delete "Force on local"= True"Retain staging area"=True, and "Keep serial"=True on local system.

Connectivity to remote system is regained

  1. Unmap the volume on the remote system.
  2. Replica delete "Force on local"= True"Retain staging area"=True,and "Keep serial"=False on remote system.
  3. Recreate the replica from remote system to local system using the retained snapshots to avoid full init.
  4. Remap the volume on the remote system.

The two volumes will properly share the serial ID of the volume and will return to Synchronized state.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments